Scholarship Awards

Members of the Florida Local Government Information Systems Association (FLGISA) have been instrumental in helping to guide and lead positive change at various organizations throughout the state. We do this because we care; about our state, about our organization, about our residents and customers and about the future. Because we care, we have decided to take an active role in helping to build the leaders of tomorrow.

the FLGISA Will AWard $8,000 in COLLEGE scholarshipS

The Florida Local Government Information Systems Association (FLGISA) will award eight $1,000 scholarships for the third year to students throughout the state of Florida. This scholarship was created by the FLGISA Board of Directors to provide assistance to incoming and current college student whose parents are employed by member jurisdictions.

FLGISA Scholarship Application

Scholarship applicants are required to submit a 500 word personal statement that outlines both short term and long term goals. Along with the personal statement, the winners were selected on the basis of both educational achievement as well as demonstrated leadership in their communities. “As part of our mission to benefit the communities we serve, the FLGISA recognizes the commitment and dedication of young people throughout the state of Florida,” said FLGISA Past President, Ned Huhta. “This scholarship is a way the association can acknowledge their hard work and provide assistance in their educational experience and growth.”

The Florida Local Government Information Systems Association is pleased to announce the winners of the FLGISA 2016 Scholarship Awards!

FLGISA Northwest District Scholarship Award:
Matthew Buckner, Lawton Chiles High School

FLGISA Northeast District Scholarship Award:
Garrett Reid Steffens, Florida Virtual School

FLGISA Central East District Scholarship Award:
James Arthur Root III, Legacy High School

FLGISA Central West District Scholarship Award:
Kendall Kennedy, Countryside High School

FLGISA Southeast District Scholarship Award:
Brianna Chin, John A. Ferguson Senior High School

FLGISA Southwest District Scholarship Award:
Kevin Robert Adams Jr., Mariner High School

FLGISA President's Scholarship Award:
Melanie Leisen, University of Florida

FLGISA Executive Board Scholarship Award:
Michelle Pagnotta, University of Florida


July 2015 Scholarship Winners:

  • Northwest District – Aleesia Shaw
  • Northeast District – Paul Thomas Bitutsky
  • Central West District – Cory James
  • Central East District – Hannah Root
  • Southwest District – Emily Bush
  • Southeast District – Xuan Phuong Hoang
  • Executive Board – Andrew Thurow
  • President – Bronson Lynch